Where the wild things are: Tasmania travel itinerary pt. 1

It’s been a really long while since I last came to Australia… Like pre-puberty long. Or even pre-Neopets long. Well, you get the picture.

My last (and probably only) memory of Australia was visiting the Warner Bros. Movie World at Gold Coast with my family. They had movie characters roaming the streets, and some character came up to my sister and me to take a photo with us – bless that poor guy – because we were TERRIFIED of the way he looked and started bawling. I might actually have a picture somewhere…

Anyhow, I recently spent 11 days in Australia – Tasmania and Melbourne to be exact – and BOY I forgot how much I miss being ~chill~

So my plan for my blog the next handful of weeks will be to share my Australia travel itinerary with you guys. It’s going to take that long because I plan on mixing things up in between each of these posts, but if you think publishing them consecutively is better, let me know!

In not wanting to sound too repetitive, we always started our day early (8/9am-ish) and ended our day early as well (5/6pm) because being in Australia, in May, meant early nights. And driving at night in Tasmania, particularly, was terrifying – to us at least, because we are a bunch of cowards. As for our meals, I ate cereal every morning and we cooked most of our dinners. If I don’t mention lunch during a particular day, it means we skipped it. #dieting #imkiddingdontskipyourmeals #eatyoveggies

DAYS 1 – 2 

Day 1, or rather Night 1, was spent travelling over to Australia from Singapore. We flew with Emirates – best decision ever – to Melbourne, and flew with Jetstar for our domestic transfer from Melbourne to Tasmania. Can I just say: our Emirates flight was a-m-a-z-i-n-g. It was my first time flying on a double-deck aircraft and it was really cool! Granted, our seats were on the bottom deck because #brokebitches but it was still pretty darn cool being on the plane itself. Also, the plane food? 10/10.

We finally reached Hobart International Airport, Tasmania, at 12pm and went on to collect our rental car.part-1-tip.jpgA park entry permit is required for entry to Tasmania national parks. We bought the Holiday Vehicle Pass for $60 at the visitor centre in Hobart city centre. Besides entry, we also got discounted tickets to certain areas around Tasmania, such as Maria Island.

After checking into our Airbnb, our host recommended we check out a nearby town called Richmond Village. As we got there pretty late we only managed to hang out around the Richmond Bridge before heading down to Coles to get dinner. bridge

DAY 3

After being well-rested (and poorly-fed thanks to my abysmal cooking), we had a long day ahead. It was also the start of us trying to avoid roadkill – or being roadkill ourselves. With one of us being a huge history buff, we first drove down to Port Arthur Historic Site, a preserved convict site in Australia. port arthurIt is a pretty big place, and if you are planning to check out all it has to offer, I doubt a day would be enough. They also offer a variety of tours like the Ghost Tour or the Harbour Cruise. We only spent about 2 hours there, however, as we had other plans. But with that said, if you’re big on history, Port Arthur is definitely a good place to visit. port-arthur-info.jpgAfter popping into the cafe in Port Arthur for a quick lunch break – they serve pies and pastries –  we drove down to the Tasmanian Devil Unzoo, which was about a 20-minute drive. With the exception of the Tasmanian devils and quolls, animals in the  roam around in the wild. You can find kangaroos, pademelons, and geese just hanging out with each other, and you can even approach them yourselves!devils copy.jpgeagleunzoo copy.jpgIt was incredibly fun feeding the kangaroos and pademelons, and a goose even sabotaged my precious time with a pademelon (damn you, goose!) All in all, I definitely recommend the Tasmanian Devil Unzoo! tasmanian-devil-info.jpgFinally, we drove down to a series of natural sights along the Eaglehawk Neck like the Tasman Arch, the Blowhole, Devil’s Kitchen, and the Tessellated Pavement before ending the day. tasman arch

tassellated
Nasty boots are the perfect fashion statement

We managed to pack everything in about 8-9 hours, including travelling, which I think was pretty manageable. The route for all the sites in this day was pretty straightforward. In fact, I’ll include a map just below. All these locations were along the Eaglehawk Neck route, so this could hopefully be a good way to start off your road trip around Tasmania as well! mapWith that said, I hope you enjoyed the first installment of my Australia travel guide. I don’t travel fancy – in fact, I travel quite scrimpy at times just like everyone else. But if you have any questions about my itinerary (accommodations, car rental, budget, etc.), don’t hesitate to drop a question and I’ll do my best to answer you! And don’t forget to check back for my further travel updates!

2 thoughts on “Where the wild things are: Tasmania travel itinerary pt. 1

Leave a Reply

