Going apeshit for War for the Planet of the Apes: Film review

I’ll admit that I was the biggest skeptic of the Planet of the Apes movies when they were first released. Talking apes? Apes sitting on horses? Really?

Boy, thanks for proving me wrong. Who knew an ape movie could make me feel FEELINGS.apesposterWar for the Planet of the Apes is the third movie of the Planet of the Apes trilogy, starring Andy Serkis as Caesar, our all-time beloved ape hero. War for the Planet of the Apes follows the events of the last movie, with humans now actively hunting down the apes and getting rid of them. Humans done done messed up big. Bad humans. Bad humans!

There were so many things to love about this movie. Firstly, what a visual spectacle. It still amazes me how realistic everything looks. The digital work is phenomenal. The facial expressions, especially, blew me away. Fuck, Andy Serkis was so brilliant as Caesar. There was so much passion in every emotion expressed. Scowling Caesar is definitely my favourite Caesar.

But what was also impressive is how War adds to the progression of the trilogy. It plays off many serious issues that have already been introduced in the previous films, such as inclusion/exclusion, human nature or humanity as a whole, revenge, and redemption. And you can see a definite thread that links all three movies together. The overarching narrative is so well-executed. You can tell that this is a movie that knows what it wants to deliver. And it does just that magnificently.

I do have a small gripe, however, with the character of the Colonel. I love me some Woody Harleson, but the Colonel just didn’t work for me. He has a whole exposition scene which is just… well, let’s just say a person who is living off four hours of sleep every day for the past week would really appreciate that little break from all the action.

But with that said, the film also introduces two new characters who brought so much life and heart to our hardened, ill-treated group of apes, one of whom sounds (and resembles, actually) exxxxxxtremely like Dobby from Harry Potter, so you know that’s always a delight.

And again, I want to emphasise how this film will make you feel all the feels. It’s been more than a couple of days since I’ve watched it and I’m still feeliNG EMOTIONS. I don’t highly recommend this – I’m saying you better get yo donkey ass to the theatres right now.

Which Caesar is your favourite Caesar?

Leave a Reply

