Who leaves the bookstore with just one book?

I have no self-control, I admit. Especially when it comes to buying books. I’m the worst.

My sister approached me one day to check out the price of a book for her on Book Depository. So I did. And I left with 6 books after that. IMG_2041 copy.jpgBook Depository is where all my hard-earned savings go to hell.

So now, I have 6 extra books to pile onto my bookshelf which has no space for books. I clearly do not have my life in order.

Looking at my new purchase, I realised that I actually have a nice, balanced selection of fiction and non-fiction books. And for once, I’m actually more excited with my non-fiction selections:

1) The Letters of Vincent van Gogh by Vincent van Gogh / Edited by Ronald de Leeuw and translated by Arnold Pomerans

I don’t know how often I’ve gushed about my intrigue for van Gogh in this space, but I’ve certainly done that a fair bit. And after months of procrastinating to get this book, it’s finally here! This is the first book out of this haul that I’m starting with – also my current read – and I’M SO EXCITED. awwww yiiiis bby.IMG_2001 copy.jpg2) Infinity Net: The Autobiography of Yayoi Kusama by Yayoi Kusama / Translated by Ralph McCarthy

This is the other book (besides van Gogh’s) I purchased from a reading wishlist I did a couple of months back. Honestly, one of the best parts about reading artists’ (auto)biographies are the pictures – especially of their artistic development. I’ll probably break into this book next!

3) When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

Yup, hopped onto the bandwagon because I CAN’T BE LEFT OUT. I actually don’t know too much about this book, and I sorely mistook this book for a piece of fiction after reading the blurb. And I have an English degree. I should be ashamed. Very ashamed. Time to revoke my academic qualifications.

Now, onto my fictional choices, which are pretty standard everybody’s-reading-it kind of books. I just can’t escape this #basicbitch life: IMG_2047 copy.jpg

1) The Vegetarian by Han Kang

I’ve heard many good things about this. That’s enough to make me buy something.

2) The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

I’ve tried watching the TV version of The Handmaid’s Tale, but I think I will revisit the series only after finishing this novel.

3) Crazy, Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

Because I’m definitely catching the upcoming film, I’ve gotta get my reading on. Yes, I’m one of ~those~ people who likes to read before watching the film. What can I say? I just love being a stereotype.

And that’s my book haul! Oh, Book Depository, what have you done to me (and my bank account)?

What are some books on your reading list?

3 thoughts on “Who leaves the bookstore with just one book?

    1. Oh dear. Do you thin feel like you have to “get my worth” whenever you online shop? I know I do, hahahaha.

      I’ve not heard of The Nile before, I’ll definitely check that out!

      Like

      1. Not sure about that, but I tend to save for a while and then stock up on books. It’s so fun! I used to get one book a week, but I think I like this method better.

        Like

Leave a Reply

