Hardcore sucking: The Body Shop’s Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask review

One of my biggest obsessions (among many others) is exfoliating my skin. There’s just something so satisfying when I feel my skin being scrubbed away bit by bit.

You might have figured out I’m a little masochistic by now.

In comes The Body Shop’s Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask, and boy does it suck the life out of my face. And I don’t mean that in a bad way. In fact, I LOVE IT. *insert heart eyes* IMG_2101 copy.jpgGranted, it’s not an exfoliating product per se, but it contains exfoliating qualities (green tea leaves), and it’s still a damn good detox product. So, same same but different?

The Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask is part of The Body Shop’s expert facial mask range which claims to “unclog, refine the appearance of pores, and reveal glow.” And I’ll say it is pretty successful at doing all of the above.

To use, apply a generous amount to your face and leave it on to dry. This will usually take about 15-20 minutes. Wash it off once the product is fully dry (or after 20 minutes, whichever the case). However, I must say that it can be a little difficult trying to wash the product off because it gets really, REALLY hard.

Like I’ve mentioned, this product sucks the living daylights out of your skin, which I really enjoy. I like it when you can feel a product actually doing something to you. Despite its strong detoxifying effect, my skin did not feel dry at all after washing the product off.Untitled-1Returning to the three properties this mask claims to do, the first time I used it, my nose had such clogged pores because I was putting primer on it every day. After washing the mask off, I noticed that 1) my nose felt smooth and clean, and 2) my pores actually looked smaller. Besides that, I also found my blemishes (which really take such a bitch-long time to clear up) looked lighter. It does have tea tree oil as one of its ingredients, and you know I’m all about that tea tree oil life.

But, I mean, what is thIS SORCERY? Y R U SO GOOD?

Since this feels like quite a heavy mask, I definitely do not use this on a day-to-day basis, and I wouldn’t recommend doing so as well. Personally, I use it once a fortnight to give my dying face an R&R it truly deserves. And even that is enough to refresh my face.review1.jpg

Overall, two thumbs up for its intense sucking prowess!

What is your go-to exfoliating/detoxifying product?

Leave a Reply

