I wish you didn’t bite back…: Ginger Snaps Back: The Beginning (2004) film review

I contemplated long and hard about whether I should write this review for Ginger Snaps Back: The Beginning. On one hand, I do want to stay committed to my Ginger Snaps series reviews. On the other hand…

This was such a boring film.

Of course, this is relative to the other two Ginger Snaps films, which in my mind, were spectacular in their own right. They were lighthearted fun, family-friendly horror flicks, but they were also intriguing metaphorical narratives with plenty of material for future analysis (for us nerds).

But Ginger Snaps Back: The Beginning loses all of the charm the previous two films had. In fact, it downright lost my attention. Which made me very #sad. ginger-snaps-back-the-beginning-movie-poster-1Ginger Snaps Back: The Beginning, directed by Grant Harvey, once again stars Katharine Isabelle and Emily Perkins as sisters Ginger and Brigitte. This time around, however, the story is set in 19th-century Canada. So, think gothic. The plot is pretty similar to the first film, where the sisters once again have to deal with the repercussions of lycanthropy.

And this is my biggest gripe with the film. It is essentially a remake without all the fun and smarts. Ginger Snaps Back: The Beginning simply lost all the inventiveness that made the first two films, particularly the first, such cult classics. This film just turned out to be one of those run-in-the-mill, typical movies where I wouldn’t think about or remember upon finishing it. There was just nothing special.

I know I’m coming across a little too harsh. It’s not a bad movie. It really isn’t. It’s just that I’ve grown to love Ginger Snaps and Ginger Snaps 2: Unleashed that I am just really disappointed in this film. There’s nothing different in Ginger Snaps Back: The Beginning for me to be excited about. Even if it’s god-awful, that’s at least something to talk about! But it was just… unforgettable. And it pains me to be so hard on this film. It really does!!!

I don’t know if you can hear my disappointment, guys. I wouldn’t say to give this movie a miss, but I will add a disclaimer to not hold it to the same standards as the previous two films like I did. If you watch it as a standalone film, I’m sure it’ll make for a decent family horror-movie night. Sometimes the stars don’t align, and in this case, it didn’t for me. I give Ginger Snaps Back: The Beginning a: C-.

I know I sound awfully biased in this review, which is something I will make a conscious effort to avoid in the future. But at the same time, I want to be authentic too! I’m so torn. What do you prefer?

Leave a Reply

